have a list:

1 – Blazing Sword

Not the best FE game but any means but the one I love the most and have replayed the most. It has a ton of good stuff and lots of replay value imo. I have probably played this game at least 20 times if not more. Plus if you put every other FE game into a blender, this is what you would get.

2 – Path of Radiance/Radiant Dawn

Do I even have to say anything? Tellius is good. Everyone loves it. Moving on.

3 – Genealogy of the Holy War

Like a 7/10 I think. A really good game, challenging levels, interesting mechanics. I hope they remake it because with a few small tweaks it could really be fantastic. I’ll probably play it again sometime. It loses a whole point for not allowing the character named after Cu Chulainn to use the Gae Bolg, Cu Chulainn’s legendary spear, and giving it to Quan instead.

4 – Shadows of Valentia

A beautiful game, however they do just a few things that piss me off, and those things piss me off majorly. Not as updated as it could have been. Also due to dungeons, grinding, and the overall length of the game I’m not sure it has a lot of replay value for me. Maybe in 5 years I’ll try again. Berkut is great though.

5 – Sacred Stones, probably

Still hardly remember this game BUT the main trio fucked me up (especially Lyon) so it gets lots of points for that. I’ll re-evaluate once I finish my current replay of it.

6 – Awakening

Dumb. So dumb. Fire Emblem as a soap opera. The designs are terrible and the levels are boring and the support conversation suck. And yet. And yet. This game is so stupidly fun. I think I’ve played 5 or 6 times and I’ll definitely play it again. ilu Chrom.

7 – Shadow Dragon

Kind of bland and ugly? Very forgettable. Honestly if you want to remake a game you should actually update the game IntSys stop doing this. Played it once. Probably will not play it again no matter how much I love Sheeda.

8 – Binding Blade

TERRIBLE. AWFUL GAME. Do not recommend. Bland as shit. Levels are too hard without any payoff for completing them, having the goals being hidden is a terrible idea. It’s not even fun to play. Someone please save me from my obsession with this game.

Also fuck Pherae, honestly.

9 – Fates

I hate Conquest so much. It’s terrible in so many ways but mostly the fact that the levels are actually really fun and interesting but the game itself is so bad that it’s not even worth it. The designs are terrible too.

So, Genealogy. My thoughts are below the cut because spoilers.

Also I’m getting this out of the way now: I haven’t read the creator’s notes and have no intention of doing so. I’m not interested in what the game might have been, or what they wanted it to be, but in what it is. Also since I don’t speak Japanese, all of this is based on the translation that I played.

I don’t like Julius.

Not, as you might think, because he’s an atrocious little dillweed. That’s fine. I don’t like him because he cheapens the story.

Up until the end, everything that happened was purely human in nature. You can say Manfroy manipulated events but how, exactly? Manfroy controlled events by figuring out what bait to use. He manipulated people by giving them a clear path to what they already wanted. Some cases took more than others.

In Verdane, it took fear. When certain events transpired and Sigurd’s forces came too close, the King thought Grannvale was going to invade, and Manfroy’s servant fed into those fears. When the King loosened his hands on the reins, his hooligan sons needed no urging to be who they had always wanted to be anyway.

In Augustria, that was human too. The nobles also didn’t like Grannvale exceeding their borders, which is fair. That gave Chavall the chance he needed to murder his father and take the throne. Manfroy encouraged him, yes. But how much encouragement do you think he really needed? 

He hated Eldigan. Chavall’s anger and fear lined up the perfect moment to get rid of his “rival” and so he executed the one person who could have helped him.

But the tragedy in Augustria is also due to Grannvale – Sigurd wanted to leave, but the capital wouldn’t let him. They saw an easy way to increase their territory and their greed overwhelmed their common sense.

In Silesse, Lewyn’s uncles made bids for the throne because they wanted it, and because they felt entitled to it.

In Thracia? Quan clearly felt as if he was right and they were wrong. There was no bending his part, no offers of aid that I saw. King Travant did terrible things, but what choice did he have when Quan wasn’t going to aid him? He freely admits that he did wrong, because it was what he had to do to help Thracia. (I’m sure I’ll get more into this once I play Thracia though, so for now I won’t say much).

And Arvis? Oh, Arvis.

I’ve talked about him before but my opinion still stands. Yes, he was being blackmailed but I don’t really think the blackmail concerned him that much. Arvis was clearly very intelligent and very ambitious. He knew Manfroy’s plans.

But Manfroy’s plans gave him what he wanted, and so he took a gamble on being able to best Manfroy at his own game in order to get what was offered him. It’s a gamble that he lost.

I don’t think chapter 10 represents that Arvis was just misunderstood. I have no problem with someone being a dick ruler and also being a loving husband and father. That happens all the time. But chapter 10 lines up with what he already did to Sigurd.

Arvis wasn’t about to meet Sigurd in a fair fight. Instead he tricks him, manipulates him, sets events in motion that doom Sigurd to failure. This is what he was doing with Julius too. He can’t fight Julius, but he can sabotage him. 

So I don’t think it’s a “oh he was good all along!!” so much as “this is the shit that Arvis does and he’s still going to do it even when the odds are enormously stacked against him”. Because Arvis is proud, and he doesn’t like to lose.

And really, let’s not forget what happened to Sigurd too. There’s no way that Arvis didn’t know what was going on, either from figuring it out or from Manfroy telling him. He went along with it anyway. What’s interesting in all of this is Deirdre.

Arvis knew that Deirdre was Sigurd’s wife. If he didn’t know before, the conversation with Manfroy must have confirmed his suspicions. And yet, he brought Deirdre out to meet Sigurd before killing him. Why?

Because Arvis is ambitious. Because he hates to lose.

He didn’t only want to win. He wanted to humiliate Sigurd. He wanted to show how much better he was, how unstoppable he was, how Sigurd didn’t have a chance all along.

But the second Deirdre appears to remember something? Arvis freaks out. He orders his men to drag her back into the castle by force. He loses his calm facade and cuts Sigurd down in cold blood.

That is Arvis when he’s scared of losing. That’s not the way he acted when Manfroy was talking about his Loptyr bloodline, about what would happen if people found out. After all, as Arvis said himself, his bloodline came from Vala. If he hadn’t wanted power I think he probably would have taken the risk to fight Manfroy. But why fight when what you want is in your grasp if you just bend a little?

And then there’s Julius. Possessed by an evil dragon who makes him do terrible things. Isn’t that cheap?

In a story where so much tragedy and pain is created by human failings, and so much good is accomplished by human strength, having the villain not be all himself is just not satisfying.

I would have preferred it if he was just like that. Plenty of other people were. Maybe having Loptyr blood could tempt him down the dark path, but I would have preferred him to walk that path of his own free will like all the others did.

Anyway.

I still think it’s a very good game with fantastic characters. I just also think the end is a little lacking when it could have been so poignant. 

Also I just beat Genealogy of the Holy War so it’s time to redo my list of faves and least faves!*

*except Sacred Stones (still) because while I’ve started a replay of it it’s been too long for me to remember

Genealogy of the Holy War:

Fave: Lewyn only because Eldigan isn’t playable (gen1), Arthur (gen2)

Least fave: Midir (gen1), Johan (gen2)

Binding Blade:

Fave: Sue (obviously I love Lilina but I love the personality I made up for her so going by Canon Appearance here)

Lease Fave: Narcian

Blazing Sword:

Fave: Lyndis

Least fave: Eliwood

Path of Radiance:

Fave: Soren

Least fave: Marcia

Radiant Dawn (new characters only):

Fave: MEG

Least fave: Fiona

Shadow Dragon:

Fave: Sheeda

Least fave: like…pick an axe wielder idk. I only like maybe 6 characters from this game….

Awakening:

Fave: Olivia (adults), boy Morgan (kids)

Least fave: Tharja (adults), Owain (kids)

Conquest:

Fave: Soleil is the only acceptable character from this travesty

Least fave: CAMILLA.

Shadows of Valentia:

Fave: Leon

Least Fave: Faye